Thelma Duggin


After nearly twenty years as a corporate executive, Thelma Duggin shifted her focus to youth and currently serves as President of the AnBryce Foundation.  Prior to her role with the AnBryce Foundation, Ms. Duggin served as a Senior Vice President at UnitedHealth Group.  Ms. Duggin is active in several professional organizations and serves on the Boards of Directors of the National Symphony Orchestra; the Washington Jesuit Academy;  and The Georgetown Center for Hypertension, Kidney & Vascular Health, and The Aspen Institute. She was appointed by President Obama to the Board of Trustees of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.  She holds a BS degree from Edgewood College and an honorary doctorate from Morris Brown College.  She has been a Resident Fellow at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, and The General Management Program at Harvard Business School.

Rachelle Barrs

Director of Programs

Rachelle previously served as the Director of Summer Residency Programs for the AnBryce Foundation. She broadened the network of partner organizations, expanded programming, curricula and enrichment resources, and increased participant enrollment.  Prior to joining the AnBryce Foundation, she led youth leadership and environmental education programs in the District of Columbia, Colorado, Kansas, Indiana, and California. She is also a published author and illustrator of children’s fiction, and serves as an Associate Visitor for the Accreditation & Standards Department of the American Camping Association.


Board of Trustees

  • Anthony Welters, Co-Chair
  • Beatrice Welters, Founder and Co-Chair
  • Thelma Duggin, President
  • Sean Aasen
  • Sheridan England
  • Belinda Lai
  • Leila Mongan
  • Edgar Rios
  • Gwen Towns
  • Bryant Welters

Advisory Council

  • Marcus Washington, Chair
  • Sela Collins
  • Sorie Jawara
  • Joyce Larkin
  • David Lowenstein
  • Lauren Pignataro
  • Joel Todoroff
  • Andrew Welters
  • Kirk Wilson